Difference between revisions of "Cryoshell"

External Image
From BIONICLEsector01
(Tags: mobile edit, mobile web edit)
Line 36: Line 36:
* Niels Brinck - The vocalist of ''Face Me'' and ''Gravity Hurts''
* Niels Brinck - The vocalist of ''Face Me'' and ''Gravity Hurts''
* Jakob Gundel - Drums (2009-2011)
* Jakob Gundel - Drums (2009-2011)
* Tine Midtgaard - The vocalist of ''Breakout'' and the new version of ''Gravity Hurts''
* Tine Midtgaard - The vocalist of ''Breakout'' and the 2013 version of ''Gravity Hurts''
=== Gallery ===
=== Gallery ===

Revision as of 19:45, 30 April 2018

Cryoshell Logo.jpg
The official logo
Type Rock band
Origin Copenhagen, Denmark
Genres Alternative rock
Hard rock
Symphonic rock
Years active 2006-present
Labels Cryoshell I/S (2008-present)
The Leaders (2013-present)
WME (2009-2013)

Cryoshell, stylized as C R Y O S H E L L, is a Danish rock band formed in Copenhagen, 2006. They produced several songs to promote LEGO's BIONICLE toy line.


Cryoshell was formed as a group in late 2006 when Mikkel Maltha was contacted by LEGO to produce a song to be used as promotional material for an upcoming wave of sets. Christine Lorentzen (an employee of Advance), Eddie Simonsen, Mikkel Maltha, and Søren Bendz were hired for a one-off recording project at Hansen Studios. The project's song was titled Creeping In My Soul and was used by BIONICLE as the soundtrack for Barraki: Creeps From the Deep. The song was a success, becoming the most downloaded MP3 from the LEGO site and reached over one million views on YouTube.

Due to the popularity of the song, Simonsen and Maltha wrote and recorded a new song called Face Me with Niels Brinck and Kasper Søderlund, which was used in the BIONICLE: Toa Mahri mini-movie. They also wrote and recorded another song in 2008, Gravity Hurts, for the Phantoka Mini Movie. In mid-2008 Lorentzen rejoined the group to record Closer to the Truth, their first release under the Cryoshell name, which was used for the individual segments of the The Rise of Mata Nui mini movie released through late 2008.

In 2009, the band focused on creating their first studio album, recording Bye Bye Babylon which was Cryoshell's first single and the last promotional song used by LEGO for the BIONICLE line. The song was slightly modified for general audiences and it was featured on various commercials. It also was used as the second credits song for the film BIONICLE: The Legend Reborn. Cryoshell also released a re-recorded version of Creeping In My Soul as the band's second single in November 2009

In January 2010, Cryoshell released an EP which featured the re-recorded Creeping In My Soul, the original version of Bye Bye Babylon, a re-recording of Closer To The Truth and two new songs: Trigger and Feed. The band's first album, titled Cryoshell was released on June 2010, featuring ten songs.

Christine Lorentzen took a maternity leave from the band from November 2011 to October 2013. During this period, she was replaced temporarily by Tine Midtgaard who provided vocals for Breakout in December 2012, used by LEGO for the Hero Factory line, and a re-recording of Gravity Hurts in January 2013.

The band released an instrumental mix of Gravity Hurts on their YouTube page in February 2015, where the band mentioned that Cryoshell started collaborating with Christian Faber for his new project titled Rebel Nature.

In 2017, Cryoshell announced that their next album Next to Machines was projected for a Spring 2018 release, with songs influenced by Rebel Nature. Two singles from the new album were released on 2018, a re-recording of Gravity Hurts featuring the Budapest Art Orchestra and a cover of the Nat King Cole song Nature Boy re-titled Nature Girl.



  • Christine Lorentzen - Lead vocalist
  • Kasper Søderlund - Lead guitar
  • Mikkel Maltha - Keyboard, piano
  • Martin Pagaard - Drums


  • Niels Brinck - The vocalist of Face Me and Gravity Hurts
  • Jakob Gundel - Drums (2009-2011)
  • Tine Midtgaard - The vocalist of Breakout and the 2013 version of Gravity Hurts





The cover art of the Cryoshell

Studio Albums

  • Cryoshell
    • Released: June 7, 2010
    • Label: Cryoshell I/S / VME / The Leaders
    • Formats: CD / Digital download

Extended Plays

  • Creeping in My Soul
    • Released: January 5, 2010
    • Label: Cryoshell I/S / VME
    • Formats: Digital download


  • Bye Bye Babylon
    • Released: July 27, 2009
    • Album: Cryoshell
  • Creeping in My Soul
    • Released: December 1, 2009
    • Album: Cryoshell
  • Breakout
    • Released: December 9, 2012
    • Vocalist: Tine Midtgaard
    • Created for Hero Factory: Breakout (Part One and Part Two)
  • Gravity Hurts
    • Released: January 12, 2018
    • Vocalist: Christine Lorentzen
    • Featuring Budapest Art Orchestra
  • Nature Girl
    • Released: February 18, 2018
    • Vocalist: Christine Lorentzen
    • Cover of Nature Boy by Eden Ahbez
    • Created for Rebel Nature

Music Videos

  • Gravity Hurts (original scoring)
    • Released: February, 2008
  • Closer to the Truth (original scoring)
    • Released: October 8, 2008
  • Bye Bye Babylon
    • Released: Mid-August, 2009 (single version)
    • Released: August 31, 2009 (BIONICLE version)
  • Creeping in My Soul (new version)
    • Released: December 9, 2009


  • Creeping in My Soul (original scoring)
  • Face Me
    • Released: September 3, 2007
    • Created for the BIONICLE: Toa Mahri
    • Vocalist: Niels Brinck
    • Debuted as "Edsim & Maltha - Face Me"
  • Gravity Hurts (original scoring)
    • Released: February 4, 2008
    • Created for the Phantoka Mini Movie
    • Vocalist: Niels Brinck
      • Re-recorded in 2012 with the vocals of Tine Midtgaard
  • Closer to the Truth (original scoring)
  • Bye Bye Babylon (BIONICLE version)

See also

External links